Sugar Violet Skinny Scarf & Hat

Last week my Mom asked if I had a matching scarf and hat set already made that she could give to a dear friend who is starting chemo soon. I did but nothing appropriate for that situation (think messy bun beanies or scratchy yarn). I told her no worries; I’d whip something up quickly. That night I scoured YouTube (my first go-to). I knew I had certain requirements: 1. I wanted to use a super soft yarn. I happen to have lots of Caron Simply Soft in Strawberry. 2. I didn’t want a complete circle scarf because I’ve been told chemo patients fluctuate between hot and cold. Also, my mom lives in the Deep South of Mississippi on the gulf. It gets hotter than all get out down there and while it’s winter now, I wanted Marie to have something that she could wear during treatments if they should continue into the spring and summer. A skinny scarf fits the bill.

With my search narrowed down I found a scarf I loved from one of my favorites: Jennifer at Fiber Flux. She’s such a great teacher. The pattern for the Sugar Violet Skinny Scarf is really very basic but is simply gorgeous and light and airy and perfect for Caron Simply Soft. The finished scarf is 72 inches.

After the scarf I needed a hat. I wanted it to match the scarf so I had to design my own. I say design loosely since it’s the same stitches as the scarf but I had to figure out how to turn it into a hat. I think it turned out really well. Ternie named it the Turtle Shells Beanie.

Since this hat is an extension of the Fiber Flux scarf pattern, I’m not sure if I can post my pattern. I may contact her and see if she minds. If she doesn’t then I’ll update here.

Have any you designed a companion piece but not sure what you could legally do with it? I’d love some advice.

As always, thanks for stopping by.

Britnee

6 thoughts on “Sugar Violet Skinny Scarf & Hat

  1. Tami says:

    What a lovely set!! I think it would be perfectly fine to post the hat pattern. The stitches that she used for the scarf are not really unique. The way I see it is if I made something using say a shell stitch I certainly can’t say that I own the shell stitch BUT the design I created with the shell stitch would be my own. Your hat pattern really took a lot more thought and math to design – the hat is definitely more complicated than the scarf. I think just giving her credit for her scarf design is more than enough. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. quietwatercraft says:

    I reckon you’ve covered your bases by letting the designer know you used her scarf as inspiration. There are only a limited number of crochet stitches, and a limited number of ways to put them together, so people really can’t claim that any one way is theirs alone!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment