Pretty Girl Beanie & Shawl

I can’t believe this is my first post of 2017. I literally don’t know where January has flown off to. It was a busy month though. Between work, sick kids and Burger having another surgery it seems it’s been one thing after another. That doesn’t mean my crochet hooks have been left empty however. I’ve made a few messy bun hats (including one for myself) and this gorgeous hat and shawl set. Here’s the details:

My father’s sister-in-law (my step aunt) is battling Stage 3 Colon Cancer. My dad thought it would be nice if she had a hat and asked if I would make her one. Well, of course, Dad! I do not know my step aunt so while I was texting my step mother to learn more about her sister (favorite color mainly) it occurred to me to ask if she thought her sister would like a shawl and we decided she would love a shawl. So my work began.

First, I was told the favorite color is pink so I had to find the perfect pink. I decided on Caron Simply Soft in color Strawberry. Caron is a super soft yarn so when I went shopping I pretty well knew that’s what I wanted. I’ve never made a shawl before so I bought 4 skeins (I ended up only using 2). I prefer the look of triangle shawls so I needed to learn the basics. It was actually kinda difficult to find just a basic double crochet shawl but alas, after many many videos I found this one. This shawl worked up so quickly and easily I’ll be making another one with the remaining 2 skeins.

Next, was the hat. Of course, I know how to make a hat without a pattern but I wanted it to be special. That’s when I found the Pretty Girl Beanie from Crochet Rochelle. Here’s what I love about this hat: it’s easy (just double crochet, and half double crochet stitches until the edging), the edging is an elegant shell stitch, and I love the oversized flower. It sounds and looks like any other basic hat pattern but when its on, it has a 1920’s-ish flair to it. Just beautiful.

The hat and shawl were well received and I’ll be making another set in this color for Etsy. Would you claim it for your own or even have a custom one made as a gift? You can contact me at turtleburgercrochet@outlook.com or leave a message in the comments section.

One thought on “Pretty Girl Beanie & Shawl

Leave a Reply

