Peppermint Hats

Back in November my Mom asked me to make some hats. One set was for two sisters. They are 7 and 8 years old. The oldest has cancer. She either had just started or was about to start chemo. The hat choice was for her but the little sister would want to be like her big sister. As if that wasn’t heartbreaking enough, the third hat was for an 18 month old who had already started chemo. Mom and I decided on maybe something Christmas-y. My personal preference was something appropriate for Christmas time but would be cute for the rest of the year too.
As I was looking through Pinterest (of course!) I found this Girls Christmas Flower Hat by Cream of the Crop Crochet. It reminded me of a peppermint but I thought it would be pretty any time. I made the baby’s hat first. I knew it needed to be soft, not scratchy and easy to take care of. I used I Love This Yarn Sport by Hobby Lobby. I used Red and Ivory (I didn’t realize I did that until I took the final 3 hats together photo). I didn’t have enough of that particular yarn to make 3 hats so, ironically, on that day, I got a package from my mom with more yarn (yay! Thanks Mom). Included in it was some unnamed red and white cotton yarn..enough for 1 more hat. Then I had enough of Red Heart Super Saver to make the third hat. I only had 2 white buttons but I didn’t realize it until after I made the hat for the baby (I call her a baby but I guess toddler). So the sisters buttons are crocheted buttons because I wanted at least those 2 to match. Here’s a photo of the 3 hats after being completed.

Like I mentioned, this was about a month ago. I mailed them right away but I haven’t had time to do a post about them. After yesterday I’m so glad I didn’t! I got the most adorable photo of the baby wearing my hat. I now know her name too: Kylie. It’s the first time I’ve seen someone that’s not family wear something I made. As exciting as that is for me, I hope Kylie gets better soon and that her family knows prayers are being sent for her not only where they are in Mississippi but also in Indiana and wherever you might be reading this too.


4 thoughts on “Peppermint Hats

Leave a Reply

