Rockskipper Earwarmer Holiday Stashdown

I haven’t posted anything for a couple weeks. I’ve had quite a few projects but never found a good time to take photos until a few days ago. Get ready because there’s to be several posts at once but I’ll try to spread them out.

First things first, do you remember the Rockskipper Cowl and Wristers? I made them before I found out they were part of the 2016 Holiday Stashdown CAL which is a group of 20+ designers that create different projects using yarn that is already on hand that would make great holiday gifts. Each week a new project is released. I’ve done them all out of order and only did the projects I was interested in. When I was checking new projects I came across the Rockskipper Earwarmer. Perfect! I’m a sucker for sets so I had to do it since I still have quite a bit of that yarn available. I’m fairly certain it is Caron Simply Soft. I have no idea of the colorway but its a magnificent silvery blue.

The pattern of all the Rockskipper projects are super easy and even though I had already made the cowl and wristers it wasn’t until I made the earwarmer that it registered in my brain that it does look like skipping rocks. In a single stitch there’s 4 double crochets which look like a shell then a chain then a final double crochet. And that’s the skipping part. It was pretty cool once I noticed it. Again, the pattern is so easy, I also made a pair of matching boot cuffs but they didn’t turn out too well. I’m a little off on the size so that’s why they aren’t shown.

Thank you Sweet Potato Creations for great free patterns!

Have you ever made anything with a neat project name and then noticed the project really did look like it? Share in the comments.

Leave a Reply

