There are no coincidence’s

I’m not one to believe in coincidences. In my mind, everything happens for a reason, even if I don’t know or understand the reason right away. Here’s my story behind this statement which also is the story behind this purple newborn beanie.

A couple weeks ago Ternie & I decided it was time for me to return to work on a part-time basis. I applied somewhere and found out this past week I was offered the position. Meanwhile, I’ve been learning more about all the things Ravelry can do. I’ve learned how to customize my searches and how handy dandy the groups tab is. I also happened to see a little box that says you can search groups by location. I immediately was curious if there were groups in my area. There were but they were mostly older groups with no activity for years. After scrolling for awhile I found one just created in September. Perfect! I read the description to make sure I was interested and it was appropriate. I didn’t look at a name or anything in particular. The group makes purple hats that are then distributed to our local hospital where parents are given the purple hats along with education on Period of Purple Crying (Shaken Baby Syndrome/Abusive Head Trauma Prevention). I remembered when Turtle was born at this hospital we were given a DVD on purple crying so I joined the group and posted a question about how the hats were to be donated. I never heard back but nevertheless I started on a hat with some Red Heart Sport purple yarn I had. While I was working on the crown I got to thinking there may be certain requirements I didn’t think to check earlier so I went back to the group page and I couldn’t believe it. The group was started by the very company I’m now employed by! I made a point to remember to ask the manager that hired me. Turns out this is one of the services we offer to the community and our office is apparently 25 women who make hats during staff meetings. They just decided to start a group in case others like myself weren’t aware and wanted to participate. Even before this I thought I would like this job but that made me feel like I would fit right in. Again, I say, I don’t believe in coincidences and everything happens for a reason and a purpose.

Has anything like this happened to you?

One thought on “There are no coincidence’s

Leave a Reply

