Blogger Recognition Award

Last week I received my first ever Blogger Recognition Award from Coggies & Cuddies. At the time I was super excited and didn’t know what I was supposed to do about it, if anything. I had seen others nominated and posting about it but I waited. I’m still not sure if I’m going about this the right way but just decided to post it anyway. Over the last week it has been a great joy for me and I felt very honored and humbled by the nomination. Thank you, Coggies & Cuddies. I hope others enjoy reading my blogs as much as I have enjoyed yours and that I am able to offer encouragement to others. Here are the rules for accepting the nomination:

The Rules:

  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to

In a nutshell, which is still pretty long, here’s the story of Turtle Burger Crochet.

In 2004, I married an amazing man, Ternie, who comes from an amazing family. In getting to know my new in-laws my mother-in-law shared one of her lifelong passions: Crochet. I had never heard of it but I really liked everything I saw her creating so I asked her to teach me. At the time we lived in Alabama so on one of their visits we went to a craft store and we bought my first crochet beginner book and a set of hooks. She taught me the foundation chain and single crochet but it didn’t stick after they went back home. Fast forward to 2010 we are now living in Indiana and the crochet bug strikes again since now I can have her guidance more often. I was determined to make our only son, 5 year old Burger, a blanket. I didn’t know anything about yarn or hook size at the time. I found a yarn I liked and picked up an F hook. I only chose that one because it was my favorite color teal. After many weeks of trying to find those stupid little single crochet stitches and only getting through two uneven rows I gave up for a second time.

Fast forward again to 2014. We now have our second wonderful son, Turtle who was a year and a half. Meanwhile, my baby sister was having her second child. For the third time I was bit by the crochet bug and was determined to make my new little nephew a blanket. It took six months but I was so proud to have completed a baby blanket made of all single crochet. I was hooked. It was at this time I learned why Burgers blanket went awry: I was using the F hook on Lionbrand Homespun bulky yarn. No wonder I gave up. I do not recommend that. Since that time I have made amigurumi toys, blankets, a pillow, Easter baskets, purses, bow ties, phone cases, stockings and more.

It is now 2016. I am still a proud stay-at-home mama of my two sweet boys: 11 year old Burger and 3 year old Turtle. An old saying says we should do what we love. I love crocheting and decided I wanted to share it with others and hopefully my little hobby would turn into a business. In today’s techno savvy world, a blog seemed a great way to start and it’s been about 3 months now and blogging has been a great outlet for me because I could talk about crochet all day and my poor Ternie thankfully puts up with it but blogging gives him a break from listening about it. That’s the true story behind Turtle Burger Crochet.

Here’s what I would tell new bloggers: write about what you’re passionate about. It doesn’t matter how many people will read it but its a record and reflection of your personal growth and you want to be proud of what you put out there for the potential world to read. Second, be considerate of others. Don’t say hurtful things you wouldn’t want said to you or about you.

My nominees to receive the Blogger Recognition Award, in no particular order are:

uniquelycraftastic

curlygirlcrochet

angelicscalliwags

adventures in homemaking

the crafty creek

that girl who crochets

the crafty mummy

mymindfullcraftdotcom

my life

crochet along with me

daniellajoe’s blog

bored little piggy

hooked

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. So Craftastic says:

    It’s awesome to learn about a new friends back story! It is exciting to find out how they came to this point in their life, cause what is our past shapes us for our future! It’s surprising to find our passions and desire’s! I am proud of you and thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

