Going Stash Crazy

For awhile now something has been seriously bothering me: Yarn organization. By no means am I a neat freak. My husband, Ternie, can attest to this. I think I fall under a category called organized chaos. It may not make sense to anyone else but I have a system in my head. It doesn’t always work, mind you, but it’s there nonetheless.

For the most part I knew what yarns I had but here lately I’ve added to my stash so much that it was even getting hard for me to keep track of. So I got a spur that it had to be done right this minute. I gathered every scrap of yarn from all the places around my house that I keep them. Then I literally dumped every bit of it on my living room floor. I was sitting in a sea of yarn. Despite the chaos it was quite amazing because who wouldn’t want to be surrounded by soft, plushy fibers in bright, soothing colors that just make you want to smile? Maybe it’s just me but I find it quite cozy. I wish I had thought to ask Ternie to take a photo but I wasn’t thinking that far ahead.
Anyway, the whole point of this is a couple things. First, I had way more yarn than what I remembered. I knew I had a lot but seeing it all out together was kinda breathtaking and made me realize I really need to thin the herd. Second, I became smitten with some of the yarn again. Particularly one that was a bluish gray and was amazingly soft. I didn’t have the cover attached to it anymore but it feels like it may be from Caron Simply Soft. It also had an unfinished WIP attached to it. In all honesty I don’t have the first idea of what I was making but it looked pretty good and without it I may not have fallen “in like” again with that yarn because it really showcased how supple the yarn is. I’m eager to get my hands on it again but it has to be the perfect project so I’ll be looking through some. I’m thinking a shawl so I can wrap myself in it. Here’s what it looked like when I found it. Pretty amazing, right?

Lastly, I found the first yarn I ever bought with intentions to make Burger a blanket that never quite worked. You can read that story in this post on how I started crocheting. Burger turns 12 in September so I’ll be making that blanket for sure this time.

In order to organize my yarn and supplies I utilized a lot of Ziploc bags and put all my work in progress projects in a box to constantly remind me to get working on them. It feels good to be organized and see what all I’ve been missing.

 WIP box

Complete yarn stash

Have you ever felt the urge to just go through all your yarn and rediscover your favorite on hand yarns? I’d love to hear about it in the comments.

16 thoughts on “Going Stash Crazy

Leave a Reply

