Crochet flip flop up cycling

I’ve been in a bit of funk crochet wise so I took about 5 days off. For some reason anything I tried to make just didn’t come together even though they were easy items I had made before (mainly hats). Anyways, I’m starting to get back in the game and my confidence is growing again.
For awhile now I’ve wanted to upcycle an old pair of flip flops and kinda fancy’em up a bit. It wasn’t until a few days ago that my mom suggested it (not knowing I already had it in the back of my mind) I decided to give that trick a whirl. I finally got around to it today and I’m so glad I did. They are totes adorbs!! Yep, the description required me to sound like a 15 year old girl because it is just that exciting.
First things first, I needed to learn how to make the triangle I wanted so, of course, I went to YouTube. FYI, the yarn is I Love This Yarn by Hobby Lobby in sport weight size 3 yarn. The color is Greybeard.

Next, I needed to know how to crochet around the band of the flip flop. Petals to Picots Crochet offered that tad bit of information.

In order to sew the triangle to the sandal I was on my own but it wasn’t difficult. With my handy dandy yarn needle I placed the triangle on top of the flip flop and just sewed around it. Pretty self explanatory. And the end result.

Now, tell me the truth. You want to squeal like a 15 year old girl now too, huh? I knew you did.

The sandals are $8.50 plus shipping. To place an order or for more information email me at turtleburgercrochet@outlook.com. Listings will soon be available at my Etsy shop and on eBay.

 

4 thoughts on “Crochet flip flop up cycling

  1. So Craftastic says:

    Great minds think a like! I just picked up a pair of flip flops to experiment with since I have had tons of people asking if I can do the pattern! So I am really glad you posted yours… shows me that crocheted flip flops are in style right now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

